House Clearance in East Molesey
Few little facts about East-Molesey
Molesey is a town in the Elmbridge district of Surrey. There are two distinct areas in the town: West and East Molesey.East and West Molesey is officially divided by the Molesey Stone - it is located on the grass outside Molesey Library on Walton Road.
Etymologists suggest the town's name is derived from the personal name Mul (pronounced Mule) compounded with the Old English word eg, meaning an island or river meadow - thus Mul's Island. Therefore Molesey is not, as commonly believed, named after the River Mole that runs through it. The prefixes East and West did not appear until about the year 1200, before when there was only one parish centred around what we now call East Molesey.East Molesey appears in Domesday Book of 1086 as Molesham. It was held partly by John from Richard Fitz Gilbert and partly by Roger d'Abernon.
East Molesey boasts some interesting landmarks, including The "Crooked" Bell, a public house built in the mid-15th century.
East Molesey Cricket Club (est. 1730) is the second-oldest cricket club in the world.
Bill Cotton, the British television producer and executive and the son of big-band leader Billy Cotton, lived in East Molesey in his latter years.